About

Médicament Québec is a coordinated initiative to support the development of innovative units dedicated to drug discovery, supply and production in Quebec and to revitalize the province’s pharmaceutical industry. Initially spurred by the need to strengthen the local supply chain, Médicament Québec brings together leading thinkers and infrastructure from universities, colleges and generic and innovative drug companies.

Find out more

Pillars

Médicament Québec provides funding for activities that, directly or indirectly, lead to the creation or strengthening of local pharmaceutical supply chains.

The term “pharmaceutical” is used to describe medicinal substances used to treat or prevent illnesses or specific symptoms, or to establish medical diagnoses. The products under Médicament Québec’s scope may therefore include small molecules, vaccines, antibodies, active ingredients, pharmacological agents, vectorization agents, RNAs or other compounds that meet this definition.

Activities that qualify for funding will :

  • Provide infrastructure – These activities aim to set up organizations, networks or tools that foster synergy and the development of Quebec’s pharmaceutical industry. They demonstrate significant potential for development and spin-off benefits.
  • Encourage collaboration – These activities bring together experts and stakeholders from various disciplines to collaborate on shared projects.

The activities support three strategic pillars:

1

Innovative drug discovery and synthesis

2

Innovative technologies for the agile production of active ingredients

3

Biopharmaceutical innovation

Two cross-sector components

There are two cross-sector components that reinforce the 3 pillars:

  • Digital intelligence (artificial intelligence and operational research)
  • Training in university, college and corporate environments

News

Collaborators

Under the leadership of the Université de Montréal, Médicament Québec aims to rally research groups, academic institutions and private companies around a common goal: revitalizing Québec’s pharmaceutical industry and increasing the province’s independence in the discovery, development and production of active ingredients used to make essential drugs and treatments. In doing so, Médicament Québec hopes to prevent future supply shortages.

See all collaborators

Contact us

Logo Médicament Québec

À propos

Médicament Québec est une approche concertée afin de doter le Québec de plateformes innovantes en matière de découverte, d’approvisionnement et de production de médicaments et de contribuer à la relance de la filière du médicament au Québec. Initialement motivé par la nécessité d’assurer une sécurité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement locale, Médicament Québec rassemble les forces des milieux académiques universitaires et collégiaux et des entreprises du médicament générique et innovant.

En savoir plus

Piliers

Médicament Québec vise à octroyer un financement à des activités qui permettent directement ou indirectement de créer ou de renforcer les chaînes d’approvisionnement locales en médicament.

Il est à noter que le terme médicament englobe toute substance utilisée pour ses propriétés curatives ou préventives à l’égard des maladies ou de certains symptômes, ou pouvant être administrée en vue d’établir un diagnostic médical. Le champ d’action de Médicament Québec peut donc inclure les petites molécules, vaccins, anticorps, ingrédients actifs, agents pharmacologiques, les agents de vectorisation, les ARN, ou tout autre élément qui contribue à cette définition.

Les activités sélectionnées sont :

  • Structurantes : L’activité met en place des organisations, des réseaux ou des outils ayant un impact en termes de synergie et de développement pour la filière du médicament du Québec. Elle démontre un potentiel de développement appréciable et démontré provoquant ainsi un effet multiplicateur.
  • Collaboratives : Les activités rassemblent des acteurs de plusieurs disciplines autour d’un projet commun.

Les activités seront regroupées autour de trois piliers d’intervention

1

Découverte et synthèse de médicaments innovants

2

Technologies innovantes de production agile d’ingrédients actifs

3

Innovations en biopharmacie

Deux composantes transversales

Deux composantes transversales viennent nourrir la richesse des trois piliers :

  • L’intelligence numérique (intelligence artificielle et recherche opérationnelle)
  • La formation en milieu universitaire, collégial et en entreprise

Actualités

Collaborateurs

Sous le leadership de l’Université de Montréal, Médicament Québec vise à rassembler des établissements de recherche et d’enseignement et des entreprises autour d’un projet visant à accroître l’autonomie et le dynamisme du Québec en matière de découverte, de développement et de production d’ingrédients actifs entrant dans la composition de médicaments et de traitements essentiels au Québec afin d’éviter des pénuries d’approvisionnement.

Voir tous les collaborateurs

Communiquez avec nous

Logo Médicament Québec